Insurance for motorists in Florida is unique compared to most states. Florida is a no-fault state, which means all drivers must carry auto insurance that covers personal injury protection, also known as PIP. The PIP covers medical expenses as well as other costs that occur due to the accident. These could be wages that are lost, or needing to hire out special help while you recover, and replacement benefits cover these types of expenses. This sounds great; however, sometimes there are severe limitations to PIP when it comes to serious injuries.
Auto Insurance Requirements
The minimum insurance mandatory for Florida drivers:
- $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) benefits, and
- $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) benefits.
It is illegal not have this minimum coverage, and if found in violation then the driver faces a fine of $500 per violation.
What happens when there isn’t enough PIP
PIP is in place to restrict smaller cases where suing would be used to cover expenses that occur from an accident. For some injuries, like a traumatic brain injury, there may not be by enough PIP to cover the costs. For this reason, hiring a personal injury attorney can be useful.
How an Attorney Can Help Your Personal Injury Case
You can still sue the driver-at-fault for life altering and severe injuries when PIP does not cover your medical expenses. However, it can be tricky so having a professional lawyer who understands personal injury is vital to getting you justice.
Tampa Bay’s Personal Injury and Vehicle Injury Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been affected by an auto accident that has resulted in a life changing injury, Bryan is there to bring justice and professional experience to the victim and the family. Expenses for these types of accidents can be astronomical from medical bills, lost wages, damages, to even death that PIP may not cover, that is why there are no fees or costs unless you win. Call for a fast, free consultation at 1-800-535-2529, or contact Bryan Caulfield online.